Posted in Nancy Willis, Our Families, Vicky Durand

Let me introduce Victoria Durand

Vicky and I connected through “Find-a-Grave” and it wasn’t even Halloween.  Her mother, Betty Cook, daughter of George Edward Cook – son of Cyrus Strother Cook, passes much information as she makes discoveries of mementos and photos as she can toVicky, since she knows Vicky’s curious.
Vicky lives in Lawrence and has done some research on the Cooks as has June Ford (granddaughter of Clair Cleveland Cook and great granddaughter of Cyrus Strother Cook), does that name sound familiar to any of you?  It does to me.  Anyway June has also done a lot of research and lives close by in Archie MO.   I have an extra copy of the research done by Everett Cook back in 1998 and am going to send it to her, between us all I bet we can fill in some gaps.

I am excited about all of this as I am sure you all will be as you make it through the sign in process.

The pictures I am posting under this topic were sent to me by Vicky.  The featured image is of Nancy Willis, she is the mother of Frances Elizabeth Cates and those are her two great granddaughters.

Until I can get the back information online I will copy it here: ” It says Nancy (Willis) Cates, 80 years old, February 15, 1899 weighting 98 pounds.  Olive Weese 2 years old November 13, 1899 weighing 23 1/2 pounds, Gladys Weese 3 years old December 23 1899 weighing 29 pounds.”

 

Nancy-Willis-Cates-with-Great-Grandchildren.

2 thoughts on “Let me introduce Victoria Durand

  1. Connie, I’m so glad we connected on Find A Grave of all places! I love the pioneer spirit of the Cook family. My family isn’t into genealogy like I am so I’ve spent years digging up facts, numbers, and names. Now I’d like to know what they were really like as people. My mom is giving me the family photos she inherited from the Cyrus Strother Cook generations and there are people I don’t know and would like help identifying. Connie will help post them and hopefully you will see someone that you recognize.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment